Father’s Day 2014

I know it’s been 2 months since Father’s Day but I am very slack in getting things ready to post.

Lynda and Adam took me to the Ellis Bird Farm for an outing. Well, I drove, but they technically took me. We had never been there and it was a nice day for an outing. I’ve driven past is a few times but it was always at times other then when it was open.

It was a fairly windy day but that kept it from being too hot.

We wandered around the farm for a bit taking photos along the way.

These little guys are not only hard to spot, but they move so fast.

These little guys are not only hard to spot, but they move so fast.

Bird on a stick.

Bird on a stick.

Sentry in a tree.

Sentry in a tree.

She doesn't seem too concerned about the eggs behind her.

She doesn’t seem too concerned about the eggs behind her.

The calm after a Merlin visited the colony.

The calm after a Merlin visited the colony.

There is so much to see in such a small area. We went to the butterfly garden and didn’t see any butterflies but plenty of flowers and plants.

Shot with a Sony A6000 and lens adapter with my Minolta 100mm macro on it.

Shot with a Sony A6000 and lens adapter with my Minolta 100mm macro on it.

About as close as I could go without getting in with them.

About as close as I could go without getting in with them.

As it was getting later in the afternoon we went into the Tea House for lunch. We had no reservation but got lucky and there was room for us. Mind you we had to switch tables, but still room. The lady that runs it is very nice and the food was terrific.

Nice cozy little place

Nice cozy little place

A "selfie" of sorts.

A “selfie” of sorts.

Adam and I with our lemonade.

Adam and I with our lemonade.

The missus and I again.

The missus and I again.

Adam and lemonade.

Adam and lemonade.

With lunch over we wandered back outside and were in time to join a walk to the West Woods with Myrna Pearman; the farm’s biologist. I’ve know Myrna for many years and she was genuinely happy to see us at the farm. Usually she comes into my work and I help her with stuff. It was nice to be on the other side for a change.

Bird on a wire.

Bird on a wire.

Ready for takeoff.

Ready for takeoff.

Liftoff

Liftoff

Gone

Gone

I totally enjoyed the day with my family. It was a nice distraction from the stress we were under getting ready to move.  I would recommend checking out the Ellis Bird Farm to anyone. It is a very relaxed place to visit.

My bride.

My bride.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

