Heading home the long way

Our room in Columbia Falls included complimentary breakfast. When we checked in we were told the dining room was closed for the season and we were given paper bags with the morning’s meal in them.

DSC00068

 

After our tasty and nutritious breakfast we headed to Glacier National Park as our stop(s) for the day as we made our way home.

We had heard the Going to the Sun road had been closed due to snow earlier in the week but with the warm weather that wasn’t to be a problem.

The problem we ran into when we pulled up to the park gate was the road was closed due to construction. We could drive up to the summit at Logan Pass and come back and drive all the way around the park. It’s 30 miles up to the pass but only 10 miles down the other, closed, side. Since Dave had never been there and I’d only been one time before we decided to go ahead up.

We stopped to shoot some water along the way.

dsc00069dsc03454dsc03457dsc03460

 

 

 

 

 

Another photographer stopped to shoot as well but I cropped him out of my shots. He gave us a lot of suggested places to go to shoot different things but we just didn’t have the time to go check them out.

On the way to the summit there is a scenic lookout that has plenty of burnt trees there so we had to stop for that.

dsc00071

 

Above is the valley taken with a lens set to 28 mm and below is the mountain top from the same place taken with a 400 mm.

 

dsc03467

Of course I needed to shoot the dead trees.

dsc03464

 

There was a bit of snow along the tops of the mountains but the sun was trying to melt it all away.

 

dsc00074

There was a cold wind blowing at the summit so we took a few shots during out brief pit stop.

 

 

dsc00077dsc00078

The down side to parking away from the crowd is the long walk to the washroom.

I tried to do a panorama of the valley of the way back but the sun’s position wasn’t so good for that so I had to settle for a single image.

dsc00085

 

I felt like a tourists shooting this without even getting out of the vehicle.

It would of been nice to be able to continue on our way to shave a couple hours off the trip if nothing else but on the way back I did see the image that I would use for my “Parallel lines that never meet” shot.

 

dsc00102

Took me awhile to get the shot as I’d get interrupted by cars or I’d have been holding the camera a little crooked. I tried this with a higher angle but this was my favorite view. Since it didn’t win I obviously should of tried something else, but this is what caught my eye the most at the time.

These were to be the last photos I took on my trip. We drove back out the way we came and skirted the southern edge of the park and ended up stopping in Babb for a late lunch. It wasn’t far from there to the border and once again Dave and I sailed through a border crossing with no hassle. We had each bought a small bottle of vodka at the distillery and that was it so customs wasn’t a problem. We went through Cardston an up highway 2 all the way home. As we unloaded Dave’s stuff he noticed his tarp that we’d had under the tent and he said we’d wash it at his work soon (it’s still in my truck). 5 minutes later I was home. It had been a long week but it was fun.

Would I go back to Yellowstone? I think so, but now that I’ve seen it (some of it at least) I’d like to see other things first. I think it would be nice to see the park in all the different seasons but I have no desire to share it with thousands of people so summer is probably out for me. Winter would be nice to go back but since access is so limited I don’t know how exciting it really would be. Spring, with all the animal babies out and about would be nice to see as well.

I really enjoyed my time in Yellowstone, even when I was freezing my ass off camping (campground was at 6800 feet). But I would do it again. Old Faithful is at 7349 feet so the mountains don’t feel so tall as compared to say; Jasper. Scenery wise, Jasper (Elevation 3484 feet) leaves me more in awe looking all the way up the mountains where in Yellowstone you are 2/3 rd’s or more of the way up the mountains. You look down more than up to see things. The thermal activity is unbelievable and sometimes surreal in Yellowstone so it isn’t really a fair comparison for me. Mountains have always been awe inspiring to me and both bring out the feeling of amazement when I look at them.

Well, that was my trip. Thanks for reading along. If Lynda lets me go out again this year I’ll have another road trip adventure this fall. I’ll endeavour to update my blog more often than that but I vowed to do that as a New Year’s resolution one year and that hasn’t gone so well.

 

Leave a Reply

