Temples and kungfu fighting

It wasn’t a totally sunny day on Sunday, October 4th but it looked like it might get there.

I was still in search of a gift for Lynda so I was pretty excited to go check out Tea Street.

We left the apartment to go look for a cab. Lucille and Curtis had told me it was almost impossible to get a cab in Beijing. We walked down their block and out to the main road where there is usually lots of taxis. After walking about 20 feet we saw a cab coming and flagged it down. The lady driving stopped right away and she knew the area we wanted to go to. Didn’t seem to hard to me but I was just a tourist.

It was about 25 minutes by cab to Tea Street so it would of been a long ride by bus/subway.

Tea Street is a long street lined with stores and stalls that sell everything tea. Tea sets, loose leaf tea, tea tables and other stuff that I have no idea what it was for.

At the start of the street it has plenty of modern stores, some of them were pretty fancy. I found a couple of tea sets that I liked but I wasn’t too happy with the prices so I thought I’d keep looking.

DSC01406

DSC01407

As we walked along the street the shops got smaller and older. Soon we came to the original area of the Teajoymarket area.

DSC01402

DSC01403

We checked out a few shops in the older area and I found a set that to me said “China” without actually saying “China.” When I asked how much it was I was surprised how little it was so I never even tried to barter. I was very happy with the price he gave me.

We went back to another store that I’d seen the same set in earlier and asked how much but they realized I already had a the same one and wouldn’t give me a price other than saying, “About what you paid.”

So I had what I came for, now I had a bag to carry around. Oh well, mission accomplished as far as I was concerned.

As we were leaving Tea Street to head over to the Lama Temple I spotted this.

DSC01404

I’m not a Lamborghini fan but a Huracan is not something I see everyday.

I had to go to China to try Papa John’s Pizza. Wasn’t bad pizza. I’ll have to try it at home one of these days to see if it’s consistent.

After lunch we went to the Lama Temple.

DSC01408

DSC02795.jpg

It was a fairly busy place but I never did see any lamas.

DSC01409

Lucille carrying my tea set

DSC01410

DSC01411

DSC01413

They do burn a lot of incense

DSC01414

DSC01415.jpg

DSC01416

DSC01417

DSC01418

That’s a lot of Buddhas

DSC01420

 

DSC01421

DSC01424

A really really big Buddha

DSC01422

After checking out some of the Buddhas we went back outside where it was less crowded.

DSC01429

Just resting

DSC01430

DSC01434

Having lunch

DSC01435

DSC01437

Rosie and I at the Lama Temple

DSC01438

Prayer wheel

DSC01439

DSC01441

That’s a lot of incense

DSC01442

Leaving the Lama Temple

DSC01443

Token bus shot for Steve Parkin

It was temple day as we left the Lama Temple to go to The Temple of Heaven

DSC02796

DSC01444

DSC01447

DSC01462

Temple of Heaven Panorama1

A bit of a crowd

DSC01463

Big lineup, must be important

DSC01466

I’m not sure what the line was for

DSC01473

Time for a rest

DSC01475

Posers

DSC01476

Poser

DSC01480

Just a few people

DSC01481

DSC01484

At least Curtis has my tea set

DSC01488

DSC01489

DSC01490

DSC01493

DSC01497

The Temple of Heaven was a pretty interesting site in a rather large site with plenty of things to see. We started making our way out and walked through a nice park area.

DSC01499

Curtis is just a blur

From The Temple of Heaven we went to the Hongqiao Pearl Market to see about some more shopping. It was a nice big indoor market but nothing jumped out at us to buy.

DSC02797

Directly behind the Pearl Market is another market that Lucille wanted to check out as she had heard a lot about the Knock Knock Store. It is a store just for foreigners. You approach an unmarked door and knock on it for entry. We never even got to knock as they have video surveillance and just opened the door when we got to it.

They had quite a bit of stuff there ranging from purses to shoes and clothes to sunglasses – which we all bought – to watches. Lucille replaced the sunglasses she lost at the Great Wall and I haven’t had any sunglasses in years but at least I hadn’t lost any down a squat toilet like she did. I really liked the look of the watches but didn’t bother to ask the prices. I don’t know what a Breitling knock off cost there but I probably still couldn’t afford it.

Hungry from all our shopping and sightseeing, we headed to. Wait for it….

McDonalds. I know, I know. I don’t even eat at McDonalds at home but unlike Curtis, I just had fries and a drink. Fries tasted pretty much like the fries at home.

We were ready to go to next stop – The Legend of Kungfu show at the Red Theatre.

DSC02799

DSC01505

We had seats in the 4th row and unlike the acrobat show, cameras were allowed as long as there was no flash used. I was good with that.

It was a good show and interesting enough, in English with the Chinese shown on the screen about the stage.

DSC01521

DSC01522

Excellent show over it was time to go home. 16, 424 steps today. Didn’t beat yesterday but seems to be consistent now.

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Temples and kungfu fighting

Leave a Reply

