Paris, Day 11

Thursday, September 29th started out as a fairly late day as we recovered from yesterday’s long ass day trip to London.

I’m pretty sure Lynda and I went out for something for lunch but I never took my camera out of the bag that day so I honestly don’t remember where we would of gone.

I do know that after Curtis was done work we took the subway to Fresh Burritos Bercy Village for supper.

The menu is a lot like what I see at Mucho Burrito here at home and it was a pretty good meal.

The tiles in the bathroom are pretty nice.

It was a short walk to our destination.

There’s even nerds in France

I had left my camera at the apartment as we were going to Accor Arena to see Sum 41, Simple Plan and Guest in concert.

Anyone who tells you a cell phone is as good as a bigger camera in any situation is so full of shit their eyes are brown. But, use what you got and I didn’t want to have to look after a camera in a crowd. (I’m not even sure it would of been allowed in.) All the photos in today post are from my Samsung S21.

Curtis and I went out for snacks and drinks before the concert started and you know you’re at an event venue when you are paying $10 Euros for a draft beer in a plastic cup, but that’s what my sister’s beer cost Curtis.

The guest for the concert was Cassyette – Cassy Brooking; a singer-songwriter from England. She was pretty energetic and she could scream pretty loudly. I didn’t know any of her songs but she wasn’t bad at all.

Zoom doesn’t do so well in the dark

The crowd seemed to like her half hour set.

I’ve never been to a concert where there was an actual intermission between bands but it was about a 20 minute break before Simple Plan hit the stage. It was pretty interesting listening to the crowd singing along to French folk music being played over the speakers while waiting to see bands that played slightly heavier music.

I knew quite a few of the Simple Plan songs and the crowd seemed to really like when the lead singer spoke French to them between songs.

Simple Plan played for about an hour and there was yet again another 20ish minute intermission before Sum 41 hit the stage.

For a city that pretends it doesn’t understand English, it was interesting watching Sum 41s lead singer whip the crowd up. Watching the mosh pit was pretty interesting. I’m not sure why so many guys (and more than 1 girl) had to take their shirts off to run into each other though.

I think I knew all of 1 Sum 41 song but it was still fun being at the arena. I was glad to be up at a comfortable level to watch and not be down on the floor.

We bolted for the subway the second their set was done to try and beat the crowds and we were successful.

It wouldn’t of been my choice of concert to see but it was pretty cool to see a couple of Canadian bands in Paris.

We didn’t walk all that far going to and from the concert but I still managed to hit just over 10k steps for the day. Obviously Lynda and I had gone somewhere earlier in the day, but I still can’t remember where.

Leave a comment